Times Bulletin Editor

VAN WERT - The Van Wert Area Chamber of Commerce is looking for nominees for awards and recognitions to be presented Feb. 21 at its 91st Annual Dinner and Awards ceremony.
Chamber President/CEO Susan Munroe extended a request on Tuesday for nominations for the organization's two major awards - The Crystal Image Award, and the Ray Miller Award, as well as for recognition for businesses celebrating milestone years in business and those who have undergone new construction projects. Nomination forms are available at the chamber office.

The Ray Miller Award is presented to a Van Wert County resident who has shown a strong commitment to the community through volunteer work, participation in community organizations and outstanding service to our community. The winner must be affiliated with the chamber or a chamber member business.

The Crystal Image Award goes to a business that is a current chamber member and has demonstrated leadership within the Van Wert community by its many-faceted contributions, including business responsibility, productivity strength, employee empowerment, and service to the community.

Last year, the Ray Miller Award went to Van Wert Hospital and American Red Cross volunteer Dottie Stahl while the Crystal Image Award was given to the Niswonger Performing Arts Center.

Also to be recognized at the chamber banquet are businesses in milestone years in business. Years in multiples of five years are considered to be milestones. Those honored must be current chamber members and the business must have undergone an addition, expansion or new construction. The firm must also have a history of commitment to the community through continuous improvements to their facility and the services they provide.

Golden Shovel Awards go to current chamber members whose business has undergone an addition, expansion or new construction to provide continuous improvements to their facility and the services they provide.

The deadline for submitting nominations is Jan. 30. The Annual Dinner and Awards ceremony begins at 5:30 p.m. on Thursday, Feb. 21 at Willow Bend Country Club. The evening's speaker will be Dr. Todd Dewett, who will speak on leadership.