Information submitted

The Van Wert High School swim team recently held its end-of-the-season awards banquet.

Head Coach Kim Clifton, along with assistant coaches Martha Martin, Angie Stemen, Brendon Moody and Keith Rydell, honored Eight senior Cougars: Kellie Carnahan, Becca Johnson, Paige LeVan, Morella Mills, Spencer Prichard, Kase Schalois, Haley Sperry and Reed Wermer.

Most Valuable swimmer awards were presented to sophomore Hannah Stemen and Junior Eric Easley. Senior Paige LeVan and Freshman Joe Linser were awarded Most Improved. (Pictured on far top)

Twetny-six swimmers and divers maintained a 3.0 GPA during the season and received Scholar Athlete awards: Kali Agler, Meredith Arn, Eric Easley, Cade Fleming, Andi Foster, Chloee Gamble, Holly Hammond, Drew Hoffman, Becca Johnson, Adam Jurczyk, , Karlyn Koontz, Paige LeVan, Joe Linser, Whitney Meyers, Josh Overholt, Spencer Prichard, Haley Richardson, Jacob Scheidt, Kory Schlatter, Daniel Silette, Haley Sperry, Marissa Sperry, Hannah Stemen, Kollin Weiss, Rebecca Welker, and Reed Wermer.

Eric Easley received honors for his school record in the 200 IM and 100 backstroke, and WBL, sectional, district, all-Lima Area first team and All-Ohio honors. Kase Schalois received honors for his six-Dive and 11-Dive school record; and WBL, sectional, district, All-Lima area Diver of the Year, and All-Ohio honors. All Lima Area winners were: Special Mention to Adam Jurczyk, Josh Overholt, Daniel Silette, and Hannah Stemen.

Most Personal Record awards were earned by Daniel Silette, Hannah Stemen, Eric Easley, Holly Hammond, Josh Overholt and Marissa Sperry.

Varsity letters were also presented. Fourth year: Kase Schalois. Third year: Junior Eric Easley. Second year year: Juniors Holly Hammond, Adam Jurczyk, Karlyn Koontz, Daniel Silette, Sophomores Josh Overholt and Hannah Stemen. First year: Seniors Becca Johnson and Reed Wermer, Juniors Andi Foster and Jacob Scheidt, Sophomores Mackenzie Agler, Bryce Beckner, Whitney Meyers, Tyler Rex, Kory Schlatter, Marissa Sperry, Spencer Trisel, Freshman Cade Fleming. (Pictured on bottom)

Participation awards were given to Kali Agler, Meredith Arn, Cameron Bagley, Aaron Bradford, Kellie Carnahan, Chloee Gamble, Drew Hoffman, Nathan Ireland, Meagan Jacobs, Paige LeVan , Joe Linser, Mitchell Mengerink, Morella Mills, Spencer Prichard, Isaac Rager, haley Richardson, Haley Sperry, Erika Strawser, Kollin Weiss, and Rebecca Welker.

Holly Hammond and Eric Easley will serve as captains for the Cougar 2013-2014 season.